The Catholic Institute

TCI Council

Members of the Catholic Institute of Aotearoa New Zealand Council are appointed by the NZ Council of Catholic Bishops. Appointments are guided by the trust deed that formed the Institute and are for a three year period.  An effort is made to balance appointments from all Dioceses, race and gender having regard to the particular spread of expertise the Council is seeking to help govern the Institute. The Council is responsible to the Bishops of New Zealand. 

Council Chair

Mr Malcolm Farry

malcolm farry 4db15ef8ed

BDS (Otago); Fellowship New Zealand Dental Association; Companion New Zealand Order of Merit CNZM; Papal award for services to Catholic Education.

Deputy Chair

Mrs Catherine Fyfe 


Dip.Bus (Massey)



Council Members


Mr John Butterfield

John Butterfield 2

GradDip. Arts (Psych)Retired from:  NZ Institute of Chartered Accountants;Chartered Association of Certified Accountants.

Sr Siân Owen rsj

Sr Sian Owen


 Bishop Steve Lowe

Bishop SL

BTheol (Otago); Lic. Spiritual Theology (Gregorium)


Mr John Gallaher


BCom: Acctg and Info Syst(Otago); Associate Chartered Accountant ANZIM; Associate NZIM;Member NZ Institute of Directors.

Mrs Maia Williams

Māori Representative; 

Principal of St Marcellin School, Whanganui